I have always been a believer that it’s the little things in life that can make you happy. Long long ago I started a blog-ish type thing with my best bud where we would talk about all the things we were grateful for. It never went very far, but the concept has always stuck with me. I think it’s important to find enjoyment and appreciation in everything in your life, especially the little things that make up the bulk of the day.  As cheesy and hippy-ish it sounds, it’s almost as though you need to open your mind to being aware of the small things. Sometimes the things that have really turned my day around have been tiny.

Once after uni a few years back, in the early evening, I was feeling particularly grumpy and I decided to go for a walk. I wandered around thinking that I was so sick of seeing the same things everyday, hearing the same sounds, learning the same stuff. I was probably a teeny bit homesick too. Anyway, after wandering for a while, I heard these strange birdcalls that I’d been hearing at night. I never knew what they were. It sounded like there were heaps of them and the sound kept getting closer…I ended up walking through an entire flock of them. It was amazing. It turns out they were Bush stone-curlews. Maybe it wasn’t such a little thing, but it was amazing all the same. I recorded them on my phone and I used to use it as an alarm tone for a while so I could wake up to the sound of birds while I lived in the city. That moment woke me up and made me feel as though the world was there for me discover, wherever I was at the time.

My inspiration for this post came from picking tomatoes. I could pick them in a boring bowl and be done with it but there is a nostalgic joy from putting them in a basket. Everything is more fun when you use a basket! Well, maybe not everything, but picking tomatoes, collecting eggs and picking flowers is always better in a basket. 

See what I mean? If I was being cynical and boring, I could say that it doesn’t matter what the heck I put my tomatoes in, they’re still the same tomatoes and I would be right but there’s no fun in thinking that way!

So today, I hope you can find enjoyment in something…whether it be picking tomatoes, seeing a particularly amazing sunset, having an unexpected conversation with a friend or stranger, watching the stars, eating your lunch, discovering a flock of birds or smiling at a stranger and getting a smile in return…the possibilities are endless! You can make life much richer without having to spend a cent. 

I will continue to use my basket. Just because.

