At the moment the West End Market in Brisbane is my absolute favourite thing to do on a Saturday morning. Everything about them is just lovely. I like getting up early and then trundling off to the markets. It doesn’t really matter if I need to buy fruit and veg or not, I still like to go. Just to wander along in the morning crowd looking at fruit and veges or talking to the lady who makes the coolest crocheted hats or buying a lovely floppy hat made of vintage fabric or buying flowers is marvelously therapeutic. Or if I feel like treating myself that week, I might buy some fresh goats cheese and some crusty bread. And then I always top it off with a coffee from the cute gypsy style caravan (cardamom coffee is my current favourite) and sit on a hessian covered plastic milk crate under a massive fig tree by the river. Oh, I could gush about these markets for such a long time. I have enjoyed them with family and friends alike. I’d like to show you. 

Looking back up towards the markets from my coffee spot.

 

Did I mention that there are some awesome buskers there? This one was awesome, she set up right in front of us and just started playing. This is her myspace. Folk/gypsy/jazz with voice, guitar, trumpet and tin whistle. You might be hearing more about her here soon.

And the final piece of awesome – the markets are right beside some beautiful community gardens. I highly recommend the West End Markets to any one, local Brisbanite or visitor. I hope these markets stay like this for a long time to come!

Does anyone have any cool markets or Saturday morning happenings they would like to share?

