I recently bought a bucket load of seeds for my parents. It was ridiculously fun. Since before I can remember my parents have had this seed catalogue from Eden Seeds and I have always loved poring over the pages wanting to buy some Moon and Stars watermelon seeds or some Turkish Turban pumpkin seeds. Anyway, our last catalogue was a few years old and I thought that they might have a website, and obviously they do. The concept of Eden Seeds is fantastic. Here is an excerpt from their website

OUR AIM is to distribute old traditional open pollinated varieties of vegetable seed, preferably old Australian varieties and organically or bio-dynamically grown where possible. 

We believe they are more nutritious and better tasting, hardy and easier to grow for the home gardener. Old varieties produce over an extended period. Home gardeners obtain relaxation, enjoyment and quality from a most rewarding hobby.

Our seeds are the old traditional open pollinated non-hybrid varieties and have no chemical treatment, and no genetic engineering.

Sounds fantastic doesn’t it? And the seeds that I’ve planted so far this season have all popped up out of the soil. I am beyond excited about one of these projects. I will dedicate an entire blog post about that when it gets easier to photograph. I’m planting some more seeds this afternoon in the seeds beds. I really love planting and watching all the brassicas grow at this time of year… broccoli, cauliflower, cabbage, kohl rabi and my most anticipated, tatsoi. It’s this lovely salad green whose name had been a mystery that I first enjoyed as part of an Asian Salad Mix punnet of seedlings. When I found the picture in the catalogue I was so excited! So here are some pics of my seeds and of my tatsoi seedlings.

   

Now if you’re thinking about starting a garden or growing some new plants or varieties, you can always go to Eden Seeds. They were quick and efficient with my order and the delivery.

I still have more things I can blog about. I really need to remember to keep you all updated here. Sorry for the unintended neglect!

(edited to add, I just realised that I have the date wrong, it was 26/04/10 when I planted the tatsoi. I’m not that slack in updating you all!)

