I went away for a week to a family bible conference but that’s a story for another post. I just have to show you my garden now…I am in awe of how much my tomato plants and tomatoes have grown in one week! The plants are now of gargantuan proportions and the tomatoes! Oh the tomatoes! Some are bigger than tennis balls and they still haven’t got a hint of a blush of ripening on them. I was thinking that if I have some tomatoes by the time the local show comes I will totally enter a tomato in it. Hahahaha! I never would have thought I would be doing that. But this will only happen if I can still keep them grub free. I’m going to start investigating the process of making neem dust to add a a preventative measure. I’ll let you know how that one goes. But now I’ll show you what I know you’ve been waiting for…the photos!

It’s a terrible phone photo, I know, but you get the point. Those plants are MASSIVE! I even had to stake up some of the branches. I have these two wooden stepping stones I use to get in the middle of the garden bed and before I went away there was enough space for me to comfortably step in and survey my tomatoes and now it’s a bit of a squeeze! I sat in there yesterday and just absorbed that amazing tomato plant smell and imagined my next garden adventure that I will have there. I am thinking it will involve some sort of legume to refresh the soil and an elaborate trellis structure that will create a little private cubby of sorts. I have always wanted to do that. But it will be a while away yet because my tomatoes haven’t even begun to think about ripening…

Maybe if you’re lucky, you’ll be around when I get to harvest some and I will make some delicious bruschetta or pizza and we will eat it and love it (you don’t get a choice with that part). These ones aren’t even the biggest – they just made the nicest photo. 

I have many more photos and moments to share so don’t you forget about this little blog over the next week!

