I promised a new post, and although it may not be exactly when I promised…here it is.

It was my brother’s brithday last week and I helped him make a cake that he was going to take to a dinner party thing with his mates. So we made cake…it was my favourite of favourite cake recipes, a glazed orange poppy seed cake. I don’t use a sunbeam mixmaster, I use a spoon and it never fails. I really really love this cake. This cake is the reason that I always have poppy seeds in the pantry. Love love love this cake. I also made another cake for his home birthday cake, a huge carrot cake. It was taaaaaaaaaaasty and we made so much that we have leftovers in the freezer. I added a can of crushed pineapple to the cake too.

Anyway, back to my brother’s cake. We made cake and then he took it to his dinner party with his mates and then he came back home about 2 minutes later because his friends had made him a cake already (or course) and they were just tricking him. And then he said something I didn’t really listen to* and then he went to enjoy friend cake. So it was me and my sister at home and we decided that we could eat some cake. And then my bro came home and was all like ‘You ate my cake! I was going to take it to work tomorrow*!’ (this is what he apparently told me when I wasn’t listening…heh). So we set our make-semi-eaten-cake-look-like-whole-cake plan in motion…

Step 1. Slice cake (note the missing 2 pieces)

Step 2. Slice orange. (This is my most favourite photo. Ever. Well at least at the moment. )

Step 3. Arrange as shown in picture…

It’s pretty swish is it not? Also, how do you like our classy plastic wine glass vase? I love it. Lately we’ve been plundering random nieghbourhood gardens for flowers. Cheap, but thrilling and fun. Our current flower is a half dead bird of paradise.

That is all for me today, I have much uni stuff looming over my head.

Love you all,

xo

ps. I just joined a very cute flickr group, What I Wore Today. Just posting my drawing now…

