I have been doodling a lot lately, and sometimes, on a good day, I come up with some pretty cool linework. And if it’s good enough I will scan it into the computer and have a play around in photoshop and colour them in. Here are two of my pieces that I was pretty happy with…

I used to be very averse to digital colouring due to some sense of loyalty to traditional art mediums. I have since come to realise the value of digital art (especially in commercial and illustrative areas of interest) and I have also realised that it’s not everyone’s cup of tea!  I think that if I had more reason to practice using photoshop and corel I would definitely get better at it…but for me it lacks that personal attachment I get to a drawing or painting. I seem to get very attached to my paintings…I love to run my hand over a completed painting just to feel the different textures (and I have had to fight the urge to do the same thing in art galleries!) and I love the idea of a piece of art being a complete one off. But don’t get me wrong, I still love digital art, but my heart remains loyal to the traditional.

(But I am incredibly proud of my digital colouring efforts!)

